Day 331: Awesome Trainers

And if you don’t understand the headline watch the Lego Movie now!

November 27 main

Right, cards on the table. I’m writing this yesterday, a few minutes after being informed by TalkTalk (yeah, I know, change the record) told me I probably wouldn’t have any internet until today (Thursday).  I didn’t want to spend another morning wondering whether to hang on in case in the internet returned (and I bet it doesn’t). Plus I have a few hours of transcribing that I have to crack on with, and I want to get into the groove with that as soon as possible. Upshot, I thought I’d get Thursday’s blog done on Wednesday so I had no distractions.

And yes, the background is from a photo I shot earlier in the year… I’m just getting fed up with photos in my tiny back garden.

I will be wearing the Vans on Thursday, as I don’t have to leave the house. They’re brand new, on loan, and I don’t think Jamie wants them back all muddy and wet.

Not much else to report, except that one of my loyal followers, Tim Norris, contacted me yesterday to point after my blog on CSO yesterday that Special FX are, technically speaking, physical effects (models, explosions, flooding sets with foam, etc) while visual effects are those created “in-camera”, which also these days includes digital effects.

And he’s dead right. I admit, I made a mistake (and having written in this area for decades, I should know the difference). However – and I say this next point not in the sense of justification, but more just by way of musing – I think to the hoi polloi it’s a bit of a vacuum cleaner/Hoover situation. One day, the only people who are going to care are people who work in the industry, lawyers and subs.

See you tomorrow!

Donate buttonUsual Begging Sign-Off

• Current total: £1,300 

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything  from 8 to 10) contact me at davegolderSFX@gmail.com so I can arrange collection.

Standard

Leave a Reply

