Day 344: Bacchus To The Future

Great Scott! It’s like being in a real life Ray Harryhausen movie!

December 10 main

 

Did some Christmas shopping this morning in Brizzle, and took today’s photo on the cycle path on the way back. There’s a number of artworks along the old railway track but this wine-guzzling Roman (or Greek, I’m not too knowledgeable about the difference in fashion choices of ancient civilisations) emerging from the ground like something from a Ray Harryhausen film has always been one of my favourites.

Years ago, when I first started using the Bath to Bristol cycle path (in the late ’90s) this sculpture used to be a drinking fountain too, but I don’t think it’s worked for a good many summers. The water used to come out of the jug; you can just about see the button that turned the water on above my toe.

December 10 robotA little further along there’s this guy, who’s clearly a little more sci-fi but also more difficult to get a photo of if you’re trying to get your shoes in shot too. I know, I tried and kept having to dodge other cyclists. Elsewhere there’s a kind of arch formed from what look like three giant pencils and various wavy pyramid things. We’re just so arty in the West Country.

I think I need to do a few more of those shots where I photoshop my trainers into classic film and TV sci-fi and fantasy before the year’s out but I’m running out of ideas! So suggestions would be welcome. Leave me a Tweet, FB message or note in the comments section below.

Today’s trainers are once again from the 220 Triathlon collection, the gift that keeps on giving.

Finally – LOOK AT THE TOTAL! Great leap of £40 overnight! I knew some people were waiting to see if I was going to manage the whole year before donating. Let’s see if we can break £1,500 by the December 31.

Oh, and this Saturday (or Sunday) I’ll be doing my TV and movie review of the year. So make sure you’re here for that!

See you tomorrow!

Donate buttonUsual Begging Sign-Off

• Current total: £1,360 (cheers to Guy Haley, Michael Molcher and Steve Jarratt)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

• If you have any trainers you could donate (either on loan or old pairs you’re getting rid of) which are size 9 (ish – I can do anything  from 8 to 10) contact me at davegolderSFX@gmail.com so I can arrange collection.

Standard

Leave a Reply

