Day 354: Nike Air Maximilians

Okay, they’re not Air Maxes but let’s go with the flow…

Ready to launch!

So last night was another meeting of the writers’ group I belong to. The theme of the short stories we had to submit was “Christmas ghost stories”. I did one about a guy haunted by Slade’s “Merry Christmas Everbody”. You will know true horror!

Flushed with success after how well my last effort went down, I once again knocked out the story in a couple of hours yesterday afternoon. This time, though, my short story was the worst on offer, and that despite the fact that one of the others was only half written. I was genuinely in awe of the writing my group mates had produced. There was some simply glowing prose going on.

Oh the other hand, my story did feature the gag: “…so loud it became a WMD – weapon of musical destruction.”

Griffin keep out signThe pub also has the worst “Keep Out” sign I’ve even seen. It was almost guaranteed not to keep me out. Who wouldn’t want to open this door?

None of which has anything to do with today’s image, and that because it’s just an image and headline I’ve wanted to use for ages, and now seems as good a time as any.

I know it’s not a good time of year to nag, but you’re running out of time to sponsor me!

See you tomorrow!

Donate buttonUsual Begging Sign-Off

• Current total: £1,390 (I haven’t put it on the sponsorship page yet, but was given £30 in cash last night from various people in the pub)

• Remember this is all for charity, so any pennies or pounds you can spare PLEASE DONATE BY CLICKING HERE.

• Follow me on Twitter to make sure you see what trainers I’m wearing each day.

Standard

Leave a Reply

